Welcome to Physics Group
Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, Kolkata

Experimental Nuclear Physics

Member Profile

Deepak Pandit
Official Address

Expt. Nuclear Physics Section, VECC,

1/AF Bidhan Nagar,

Kolkata -700 064

Ph: +91-33-2318 2308/2108

Email: deepak.pandit[at]vecc.gov.in

Fax : +91-33-2334 6871

Deepak Pandit

Present position

Scientific Officer (F)

Earlier positions held

OCES-2005 TRAINEE (49th Batch Training School, BARC)


PhD (2013): Homi Bhabha National Institute

• BARC Training School (OCES-2005, 49th Batch)

• M.Sc. (2004) : IIT Kharagpur, INDIA

• B.Sc. (2002) : University of Calcutta

Research Interests

• Experimental Nuclear Physics

• Giant Dipole Resonance (GDR) in hot rotating nuclei

• Nuclear level density 

• Bremsstrahlung Radiation

• Development of high-energy photon detectors and instrument

Selected Publications

1. “Experimental signature of collective enhancement in nuclear level density”  
Deepak Pandit, Srijit Bhattacharya, Debasish Mondal, Pratap Roy, K. Banerjee,  S. Mukhopadhyay, Surajit Pal,  A. De,  Balaram Dey  and S.R. Banerjee. 
Phys. Rev C 97, (2018) 041301 (Rapid Communications).

2. “Experimental determination of  n/s for finite nuclear matter” 
Debasish Mondal, Deepak Pandit, S. Mukhopadhyay, Surajit Pal, Balaram Dey, Srijit Bhattacharya, A. De Soumik Bhattacharya, S. Bhattacharyya,  Pratap Roy, K. Banerjee and S.R. Banerjee. 
Phys. Rev Lett 118, (2017) 192501.  

3. “Critical behavior in the variation of GDR width at low temperature”,
Deepak Pandit, S. Mukhopadhyay, Surajit Pal, A. De, S.R. Banerjee,
Phys. Lett. B 713 (2012) 434. 

4. “Coherent bremsstrahlung and GDR width from 252Cf cold fission
Deepak Pandit, S. Mukhopadhyay, Srijit Bhattacharya, Surajit Pal, A. De, S.R. Banerjee,
Phys. Lett. B 690 (2010) 473.   

5. “Extreme nuclear shapes examined via giant dipole resonance lineshapes in hot light-mass systems”,
Deepak Pandit, S. Mukhopadhyay, Srijit Bhattacharya, Surajit Pal, A. De, S. Bhattacharya, C. Bhattacharya, K. Banerjee, S. Kundu, T. K. Rana, A. Dey, G. Mukherjee, T. Ghosh, D. Gupta and S.R. Banerjee,
Phys. Rev. C 81 (2010) 061302 (Rapid Communications).  



For full list of publication click here.

Awards & Fellowships

1. Aswini Kumar Rath Memorial Award in Nuclear Physics for year 2014, Indian Physics Association

2.  2nd Prize winner in Colloquium for Young Physicists (YPC– 2014), The Indian Physical Society.

3Young Scientist Award – 2013,  Excellence in Science, Engineering and Technology Awards Scheme Department of Atomic  Energy, Government of India.

4Group Achievement Award – 2009, Excellence in Science, Engineering and Technology Awards Scheme, Department of Atomic Energy, Government of India.

5.  1st prize for best poster presentation, DAE-BRNS Symposium on Nuclear Physics, 2008, Roorkee.

Talks Delivered 

1.“Experiments on giant resonances” 
Mini School on “Frontiers of Nuclear Physics and Astrophysics”, May, 2015 VECC, Kolkata 

2.“The variation of GDR width at low temperature and the CTFM”
DAE-BRNS Conference on Frontiers in Gamma Ray Spectroscopy – 2015 (FIG-15) February, 2015 , VECC, Kolkata

3.“Shape transition from collective prolate to spherical as a function of temperature in 169Tm nucleus via GDR gamma-rays”
DAE-BRNS Symposium on Nuclear physics, Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning, December, 2015, Prasanthi Nilayam .

4. “GDR studies with LAMBDA Spectrometer at VECC”
PARIS INDIA Collaboration meeting, January, 2013, TIFR, Mumbai

5. “Jacobi Shape Transition: A transit from macro to micro world”,
Opportunities in Nuclear Physics Research in India, March, 2012, Raniganj.