Welcome to Physics Group
Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, Kolkata


Swagato Mallik received the C.V.K Baba memorial prize for the best thesis
posted by Gargi Chaudhuri on 24th January, 2017

Dr. Swagato Mallik has been awarded with the C.V.K Baba memorial prize for the best thesis presentation in the 61st DAE symposiumin Nuclear Physics  held at Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata in December 2016. The award comprises of a certificate and  a handful of cash prize. About 20 young  nuclear physicists  presented their thesis(posters) in the symposium.  A board of judges selected the best three presentations for oral presentation from which Dr Mallik’s thesis was chosen to be the best.

Photo (courtesy: symposium website): Swagato receiving the best thesis award from Dr. Ajit K Mahanty, Director, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics.

Swagato has made remarkable contribution to both statistical and dynamical theories of nuclear multifragmentation in his thesis work. Along with his collaborators, he has 10 international journal publications [4  in Phys. Lett. B, 6 in Phys. Rev. C (1 Rapid communication) and 5 regular articles]  relevant to the thesis work.

Photo (courtesy: symposium website) Swagato presenting his thesis work at the Meghnad Saha Auditorium

Congratulations to Dr. Mallik from Physics Group!